Skip to Content

My.Army.Mil. Learn more about your Army media. How you like it.

Fort Hood Press Center
DATE: July 29, 2012 12:00:00 PM CDT

2012 Army Combatives Championship Results

After three days of intense fighting, Fort Hood took home its third U.S. Army Combatives Championship team trophy July 28, making history as the first post to win the tournament three years in a row.

Results of the championship fights are below.

The entire championship can be viewed or downloaded from DVIDS at or viewed on YouTube at


Team Results

1st place - Fort Hood - 441

2nd place - Fort Stewart - 407

3rd place - Fort Carson - 365

4th place - 5th Special Forces Group - 347

5th place - Fort Bragg - 344

6th place - Minnesota National Guard - 320



1st place - SFC Jonathan Mejil (Fort Sill)

2nd place - SPC Sean Stebbins (Minnesota National Guard)

3rd place - SPC Larry Jackson (Fort Hood)



1st place - SSG Francisco Mercado (Fort Bragg)

2nd place - SFC William Haggerty (Fort Bragg)

3rd place - SSG Aaron Riley (Fort Hood)



1st place - SSG Glenn Garrison (Fort Carson)

2nd place - SSG Shane Lees (Fort Hood)

3rd place - SGT Jesse Hertzog (Fort Bragg)



1st place - 1LT Matthew Kyler (Fort Carson)

2nd place - 2LT Nick Shafer (Fort Hood)

3rd place - SGT Philip Platt (Fort Hood)



1st place - CPT Jon Anderson (Fort Carson)

2nd place - PFC Vincent Fairbairn (Fort Stewart)

3rd place - CPT Jason Norwood (Fort Hood)



1st place - 1LT Daniel Midgett (5th Special Forces Group)

2nd place - SSG Ashten Richardson (Korea)

3rd place - SSG Patrick Miller (Fort Benning)


Light Heavyweight

1st place - SFC James Stelly (5th Special Forces Group)

2nd place - SPC Carlie Williams (Fort Drum)

3rd place - SGT Jose Espinosa (Fort Hood)



1st place - SPC Nathaniel Freeman (Fort Stewart)

2nd place - SGT Jason Reyes (Fort Hood)

3rd place - SSG Lonnie Kincaid (Fort Riley)